The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store Donate

Greetings and salutations fellow caudate enthusiasts!!! This site rocks!!!!

This is a discussion on Greetings and salutations fellow caudate enthusiasts!!! This site rocks!!!! within the Introductions Area forums, part of the General Topics category; Hello and good day to you all. My name is Aaron Clifton and I live in Niagara Falls, New York. ...

Introductions Area Where new members introduce themselves.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th December 2008   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: RandallRock has started on the right path
Cool Greetings and salutations fellow caudate enthusiasts!!! This site rocks!!!!

Hello and good day to you all. My name is Aaron Clifton and I live in Niagara Falls, New York. I studied axolotls in my genetics labs while in college. I became deeply fascinated with the creature in doing so. A friend had acquired some as pets from the lab and I thought they were the coolest looking things in the multiverse so I acquired some for myself! I never had any intention of breeding. I awoke one day to find a mess of eggs In my tank and quickly called a large, reliable local pet store who offered me a decent price per unit (This is the exact moment the light bulb flicked on above my head!) and assured me I'd always have demand If wished to continue breeding as a project. I've successfully breed roughly 350 of them and only expect many more. I have 13 Adults myself of assorted phenotype now. I started with a male wild, and two female melanoids. I was able to deduce based on the diversity of offspring produced that my male is fully hetero for the four major phenotype genes (A,M,D,AX). One female can produce leucistics and the other can produce Albinos (Gold, Melanoids and Axanthics). So I very much lucked out with my gene stock be able to produce more than just wil