The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Anyone have success with Plethodon shermani and Hemidactylium scutatum?

This is a discussion on Anyone have success with Plethodon shermani and Hemidactylium scutatum? within the Plethodontids and Lungless Salamanders (Bolitoglossa, Eurycea, Plethodon, etc.) forums, part of the Species, Genus & Family Discussions category; Hello, I'm an undergraduate researcher at the University of South Florida in a lab where I am in charge of ...

Plethodontids and Lungless Salamanders (Bolitoglossa, Eurycea, Plethodon, etc.) The largest, and one of the most diverse groups of salamanders, these salamanders have all evolved to breathe solely through their skin and are found almost exclusively in North America.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th September 2009   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: JasonRichardson is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Anyone have success with Plethodon shermani and Hemidactylium scutatum?

Hello,

I'm an undergraduate researcher at the University of South Florida in a lab where I am in charge of P. shermani and Hemidactylium scutatum.

Recently, the H.s. have had an incredibly rapid death rate. I've been successfully keeping reptiles and amphibians in captivity for a good number of years and am quite shocked that this is happening. So far only two of the P.s. have went, so hopefully the rest continue to do well.

My professor and I are at a loss on what could be going on. . .

These particular animals were collected back in March (before I came to the lab) from North Carolina.

They are all kept in deli cups large enough to accommodate all of their needs. In each deli cup a moist sponge is place with them that is cleaned twice a week.