The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Eurycea bislineata breeeding attempt.

This is a discussion on Eurycea bislineata breeeding attempt. within the Plethodontids and Lungless Salamanders (Bolitoglossa, Eurycea, Plethodon, etc.) forums, part of the Species, Genus & Family Discussions category; I have Eurycea bislineata for about 2,5 years now, but I have never done a breeding attempt before. My group ...

Plethodontids and Lungless Salamanders (Bolitoglossa, Eurycea, Plethodon, etc.) The largest, and one of the most diverse groups of salamanders, these salamanders have all evolved to breathe solely through their skin and are found almost exclusively in North America.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th June 2012   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 1
Comments: 1
Rep: Jari B has shown reliable knowledge
Default Eurycea bislineata breeeding attempt.

I have Eurycea bislineata for about 2,5 years now, but I have never done a breeding attempt before. My group contains 6 adult animals with unsure sexes. I have seen in the past that 2 of the animals had a cirri visible, so I guess that those 2 are males.

After some research I thought about a good breeding tactic that might work. Their normal set up was a really basic one with a few stones with holes in them. The temperature is almost constant all year round. To break this normal habit I stopped feeding them for 1 week and after that I put my entire group in a cricket box with damp moss in the fridge at 6 degrees Celsius. They are in the fridge for 1 week already and I noticed egg development in at least 2 of my animals. The ovary are visible from underneath and you can see the eggs in several different sizes in the females developing. The activity is dramatically reduced since they are in the fridge but the development started when they entered the fridge.

Click the image to open in full size.