The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

P. Cinereus Breeding

This is a discussion on P. Cinereus Breeding within the Plethodontids and Lungless Salamanders (Bolitoglossa, Eurycea, Plethodon, etc.) forums, part of the Species, Genus & Family Discussions category; Hi, I have 3 P. Cinereus which I have been keeping for over 2 years now, and I was wondering ...

Plethodontids and Lungless Salamanders (Bolitoglossa, Eurycea, Plethodon, etc.) The largest, and one of the most diverse groups of salamanders, these salamanders have all evolved to breathe solely through their skin and are found almost exclusively in North America.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th June 2012   #1 (permalink)
2010 Research Grant Donor

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 13
Comments: 0
Rep: firedreams has given consistently good advice and informationfiredreams has given consistently good advice and informationfiredreams has given consistently good advice and informationfiredreams has given consistently good advice and information
Default P. Cinereus Breeding

Hi,

I have 3 P. Cinereus which I have been keeping for over 2 years now, and I was wondering what steps I should take to encourage them to breed. I know that I have at least 1 female and 1 male (verdict is out on the third sal). All of my Caudates are kept in my climate controlled "newt room", so there is little to no seasonal variation in temperature. I was wondering if I should fridge my P. Cinereuses in order to trigger breeding season responses? If so, how long should I fridge them for? (minimum time?)

Thanks,

Lydia

firedreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2012   #2 (permalink)
Administrator

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 97
Comments: 46