The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Newbie! Pleurodeles Waltl

This is a discussion on Newbie! Pleurodeles Waltl within the Newt and Salamander Help forums, part of the Beginner Newt, Salamander, Axolotl & Help Topics category; I am new to newt keeping and Pleurodeles Waltl. Ive read they are wonderful for beginners. I have kept tiger ...

Newt and Salamander Help Got a problem? Ill newt? Basic questions? Ask about them here.

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By ChristineB
  • 1 Post By ChristineB
  • 1 Post By Chinadog

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th August 2015   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Vanders is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Newbie! Pleurodeles Waltl

I am new to newt keeping and Pleurodeles Waltl. Ive read they are wonderful for beginners. I have kept tiger salamders before, but only wild caught and they were only kept for the summer outside of breeding season. Being P. Waltl is almost 100% aquatic (outside of a few floats in the tank) how much water should actually be in the tank? I ordered gravel, big no no as i now know, so if i put limestone rocks, flat and free of sharp edges, could i feed them on that so they wont ingest any rocks? Also, is there such a thing as too many plants for these guys? My enclosure isnt yet set up, but i have ordered 30 sagittaria 10 vqallisneria and 10 pennyqworth, will that be enough for a 20 gallon long tank?? Can they be housed with feeder guppies (I know some people suggest no, and others suggest its ok for feeding purposes)? How many can i keep in the tank at once?

Vanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2015   #2 (permalink)
Field Herper

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 142
Comments: 77