The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Sexing newly morphed tiger salamanders

This is a discussion on Sexing newly morphed tiger salamanders within the Newt and Salamander Help forums, part of the Beginner Newt, Salamander, Axolotl & Help Topics category; Hi there! I'm new to this hobby and to this forum so if I'm wrong by posting this here please, ...

Newt and Salamander Help Got a problem? Ill newt? Basic questions? Ask about them here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Meghann1993 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sexing newly morphed tiger salamanders

Hi there! I'm new to this hobby and to this forum so if I'm wrong by posting this here please, by all means, correct me!
I have three tiger salamanders, two of which are almost done morphing and one is in the middle of the process, and I'm just curious if it is possible to sex them at this stage and or age? I will be attaching a couple pictures to see if anyone can tell if they are male of female, or if I still need to wait a while. Also if anyone sees something I'm doing wrong please help me out because I'm very concerned that I have not received credible information on how to raise these guys, but I'm trying by best and need as much help as possible because I have fallen absolutely in love with these little slimy things and want to do this properly for their sake.
The pictures are of only two out of the three babies but I will upload another containing a picture of the third baby if necessary
Also if anyone can tell me the exact species or type of tiger salamanders they are that would be awesome!!
Attached Thumbnails
Sexing newly morphed tiger salamanders-img_2902.jpg   Sexing newly morphed tiger salamanders-img_2897.jpg