The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Tank set up for newts/salamanders

This is a discussion on Tank set up for newts/salamanders within the Newt and Salamander Help forums, part of the Beginner Newt, Salamander, Axolotl & Help Topics category; Hello! I have no experience in the care of newts/salamanders, but I would love to own some. I have been ...

Newt and Salamander Help Got a problem? Ill newt? Basic questions? Ask about them here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25th March 2013   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: nishfets is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tank set up for newts/salamanders

Hello!
I have no experience in the care of newts/salamanders, but I would love to own some. I have been researching on the needs of them. Would this be an appropriate setup(?):
Click the image to open in full size.
Sorry for the crappy ms paint drawing.
I can't decide on whether to have Fire Bellied Newts. Eastern Newts, or Southern Two-lined Salamanders (which are native to my county.)
The tank will be 20 gallons and will house probably 3-4 animals (of one species, of course.) Some rocks I will use are found in nature. I baked all of them at 350 degrees F for an hour to insure that any worms, snails, and such are dead.
Should I have a filter?
Any suggestions/recommendations are greatly appreciated.
Thank you! :)
Erin

nishfets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2013   #2 (permalink)
Prolific Member

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 5
Comments: 2
Rep: frogman has given consistently good advice and informationfrogman has given consistently good advice and informationfrogman has given consistently good advice and information
Default Re: Tank set up for newts/salamanders