The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Tiger Salamander Temporary Home

This is a discussion on Tiger Salamander Temporary Home within the Newt and Salamander Help forums, part of the Beginner Newt, Salamander, Axolotl & Help Topics category; As I had posted yesterday, I recently took in a young Tiger Salamander from a friend who was unable to ...

Newt and Salamander Help Got a problem? Ill newt? Basic questions? Ask about them here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th May 2013   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: axyl97 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tiger Salamander Temporary Home

As I had posted yesterday, I recently took in a young Tiger Salamander from a friend who was unable to care for him anymore. I am COMPLETELY new to owning any type of amphibious pet. After making sure he was, in fact, a Tiger Salamander I was advised to remove him from his aquarium and put him in a proper tank with substrate. I will be getting a larger tank in the near future but for now he's in a tank with the same width and length of a 10 gallon (it's length is about 3/4 of that of a ten gallon). Is this an okay size? I also added some "Tropical Soil" made from coconut fibers as directed by many Tiger Salamander websites. I put him in his new home with a shallow bowl of water to submerge himself in and watched for a couple minutes to ensure his new home would work for him. I noticed his skin started drying (the coconut fiber is moist) and he immediately dove back into the water. What can I do to help him adjust to his substrate? By the way, this is just a temporary setup until I can get him a proper hide, water bowl, and a larger tank.

I apologize for the second picture, I realize it probably isn't too helpful. I'm just extremely worried that I'm going to mess up and hurt him.
Attached Thumbnails