The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Baby Axolotl vs. baby tiger salamander..newbie!

This is a discussion on Baby Axolotl vs. baby tiger salamander..newbie! within the Axolotls (Ambystoma mexicanum) forums, part of the Beginner Newt, Salamander, Axolotl & Help Topics category; Hi Everyone :) Sorry if this question has been asked already or if this is posted in the wrong place ...

Axolotls (Ambystoma mexicanum) A dedicated topic for those seeking help with Axolotls, showing off your photos, or just to talk about them.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2017   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: eklinds is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Baby Axolotl vs. baby tiger salamander..newbie!

Hi Everyone :)

Sorry if this question has been asked already or if this is posted in the wrong place but I am completely new to Axolotls and my husband and I are getting our first one this weekend! (if they still have stock at our local exotics shop that is) So here's my question- I am probably just paranoid but I've heard that baby Axolotl and baby Tiger Salamanders look almost identical as babies and that some shops don't know the difference when selling to you. We would happily keep it if it turned into a salamander don't get me wrong! But ideally we would like an Axolotl- are there any sure fire ways to know that what we are purchasing is for sure an Axolotl? (we are getting a leucistic for our first tank and the shop only has babies at the moment) thanks so much!

eklinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017   #2 (permalink)

Nationality:
Comments: 1
Rep: Felixtacat has shown reliable knowledge