The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Fuzzy stuff on Axolotl's arm?

This is a discussion on Fuzzy stuff on Axolotl's arm? within the Sick Axolotl? forums, part of the Axolotls (Ambystoma mexicanum) category; Hello! I'm completely new to the hobby, so forgive me if this post lacks some educated-sounding stuff. Anyways, I have ...

Sick Axolotl? Axolotl looking down in the gills? The doctors are in.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st April 2016   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Lachesism is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Fuzzy stuff on Axolotl's arm?

Hello! I'm completely new to the hobby, so forgive me if this post lacks some educated-sounding stuff. Anyways, I have a 55 gallon tank set up in my house right now with some sand as substrate, one Java fern, and a handful of guppy grass, some planted and some free-floating, and two little hides. I also have a little baby axolotl in there- Not sure his exact measurements, but I'd guess that little Arty's around ~2.5 inches. After I introduced him to the tank (Fully cycled, by the way), I noticed that he was actually missing a chunk of his right arm. I know it'll regrow, but I also noticed a fuzzy white cloud around the end of his little arm stump, and I was wondering if anyone might have an idea about what it is. I apologize for not being to upload a picture of it at this time, but I was just wondering if anyone had a clue as to what it is? Also, when I purchased him, his feathery little gills were white and still are - he's Leucistic, but aren't they supposed to be pink?

Lachesism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2016   #2 (permalink)
Prolific Member

Nationality:
Comments: 1
Rep: AxolotlChris has given good advice and informationAxolotlChris has given good advice and informationAxolotlChris has given good advice and information