The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Axolotl not eating enough

This is a discussion on Axolotl not eating enough within the Sick Axolotl? forums, part of the Axolotls (Ambystoma mexicanum) category; I got my axolotl, Clyde, a few weeks ago and (s)he is still very small - only about 8cm long. ...

Sick Axolotl? Axolotl looking down in the gills? The doctors are in.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th September 2017   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: milly124x is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Axolotl not eating enough

I got my axolotl, Clyde, a few weeks ago and (s)he is still very small - only about 8cm long. I'm very new to keeping them and I've done a lot of research on them, but I've got a bit of new-mum syndrome and I'm terrified he's not eating enough. I've read that their body should be about as wide as their head and he is thinner than this. Is that normal for juvenile axolotls? Will he naturally fatten up? At the moment I'm feeding him on bloodworm (once daily, as much as he will eat within an hour) and there are a few live river shrimp in there too, although he doesn't seem to be a natural hunter I start by hand feeding him then put any left overs into a shallow dish in his tank and take what he hasn't eaten out after about an hour so that my ammonia levels don't increase, but it seems like he's having trouble actually finding the food? I just wanted some advice on if he's eating enough/how to get him to eat more? Thanks

milly124x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2017   #2 (permalink)

Nationality:
Rep: Eternie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Axolotl not eating enough