The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Beyond Frustrated with Ammonia issue!

This is a discussion on Beyond Frustrated with Ammonia issue! within the Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate forums, part of the Axolotls (Ambystoma mexicanum) category; Ok, so brief background: This is my first large tank. I am still learning all the ins and outs, but ...

Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate Discussions on tanks, temperature, filters, gravel, lights etc.

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By keiko
  • 1 Post By jamessamlev
  • 1 Post By keiko

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th August 2015   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: AnalogHedgehog is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Beyond Frustrated with Ammonia issue!

Ok, so brief background:

This is my first large tank. I am still learning all the ins and outs, but I did a ton of research before hand and felt pretty confident until now. I fully cycled my tank prior to getting my axies. Ammonia and Nitrites were zeroed out and there were a few nitrates.

Everything went great when I got them, but I cleaned a little too much (my fault) and changed the filters (which I learned later was about the dumbest thing I could do) and the ammonia level spiked. I did daily 25% water changes, but the ammonia level kept rising. I was afraid for my lotl's health so I removed them from the tank and they are currently happy as can be in our guest bathtub (they are still pretty small).

So I go and talk with a guy at a local aquarium store and he says to just let it be and it will cycle. Fast forward a few days and the ammonia levels just keep going up. I'm so glad I removed my little ones because that ammonia level is now reading an insane 8 ppm!