The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store


Help with tank cycle!

This is a discussion on Help with tank cycle! within the Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate forums, part of the Axolotls (Ambystoma mexicanum) category; I've had my tank set up and have been doing a fish in cycle for 5 weeks now. I have ...

Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate Discussions on tanks, temperature, filters, gravel, lights etc.

Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th August 2013   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 10
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Danimorse is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Help with tank cycle!

I've had my tank set up and have been doing a fish in cycle for 5 weeks now. I have my axie in a temporary tank, and wish to move him to the one I'm cycling. There are two goldfish in the tank I am cycling, and at the moment my ammonia is in between 0-0.25 Nitrites are at 0 (I have already seen a nitrite spike) and nitrates at between 20-40. My question is, is my tank cycled? Is it ok to transfer my axie to this tank now as i still have a small amount of ammonia.. Any help will be greatly appreciated



Danimorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2013   #2 (permalink)
Axolotl Enthusiast
 
auntiejude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 3,671
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: auntiejude is considered an Authority at Caudata.orgauntiejude is considered an Authority at Caudata.orgauntiejude is considered an Authority at Caudata.orgauntiejude is considered an Authority at Caudata.orgauntiejude is considered an Authority at Caudata.orgauntiejude is considered an Authority at Caudata.orgauntiejude is considered an Authority at Caudata.orgauntiejude is considered an Authority at Caudata.org
Default Re: Help with tank cycle!

I think It's close enough to put your axie in. You won't always get 0 for ammonia and nitrite even when it's cycled, and with water changes it keeps it under control anyway.

Adding a new animal to a tank will casue a change in the cycle anyway. the idea of starting a cylce with fish is to get started, not make it perfect. Just keep monitoring and changing water until it stabilised again.

Good luck! (And post some pics of your new axie)



auntiejude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, axolotl, beginner, cycle, fish in cycle, set up, tank

LinkBack
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads

Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: Why won't my tank cycle?? Jennadenny Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 7 31st January 2013 16:31
Question: Tank Cycle Travis Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 5 1st April 2011 15:47
New tank cycle shells Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 4 29th March 2011 02:27
Tank cycle AllyTK Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 2 15th December 2009 23:21
Please help me to cycle my tank. Pumpkin Pie Axolotl General Discussion 24 21st August 2008 13:15


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:56.