The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store


Setting up my tank with substrate?

This is a discussion on Setting up my tank with substrate? within the Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate forums, part of the Axolotls (Ambystoma mexicanum) category; Hi everyone. I have two Axolotls (Wanita and Lo). I have a 28 Gallon tank that they both share and ...

Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate Discussions on tanks, temperature, filters, gravel, lights etc.

Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th November 2013   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 125
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Jawdoss is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Setting up my tank with substrate?

Hi everyone.

I have two Axolotls (Wanita and Lo). I have a 28 Gallon tank that they both share and they move around comfortably. The tank that i am using now (28 Gallon, 107 Litres) has a bare bottom floor. I just purchased a 91 Gallon (418 Litres), both Wanita and Lo will share it. There is plenty of room for them to walk around (41cm W x124.4cm L).

I was just wondering if is hold put standard fish gravel into my tank. Will my Axies eat it? Is it a good idea?
Pros and cons?

Regards,
Jawdoss



Jawdoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 125
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Jawdoss is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

Also, what could type of cleaning fish can i put in the tank? Can i put in little cleaning snails and things like that? Whats a good way to keep the tank clean as far as glass walls go?



Jawdoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013   #3 (permalink)
Prolific Member
 
HayleyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 1,201
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 1
Rep: HayleyK has given good advice and informationHayleyK has given good advice and information
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

A big NO to gravel - every. Use play sand or very fine sand.

Gravel pros - NONE. Cons - impaction.

Sand pros - makes the tank look beautiful, easy to root plants into, my axolotl likes to dig in it :) cons - some sands can be sharp and leads to internal organ problems if ingested to avoid this you can hand feed or feed from a jar.


As for the fish, do not house any suckers with them, some people use snails but I never have. You can always get a magnet glass cleaner or a scraper thing. My partner uses one on his reef tank and it's like a razor blade on a long stick and cleans it good and fast



HayleyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 125
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Jawdoss is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayleykahnita View Post
A big NO to gravel - every. Use play sand or very fine sand.

Gravel pros - NONE. Cons - impaction.

Sand pros - makes the tank look beautiful, easy to root plants into, my axolotl likes to dig in it :) cons - some sands can be sharp and leads to internal organ problems if ingested to avoid this you can hand feed or feed from a jar.


As for the fish, do not house any suckers with them, some people use snails but I never have. You can always get a magnet glass cleaner or a scraper thing. My partner uses one on his reef tank and it's like a razor blade on a long stick and cleans it good and fast
Ok, i used to have gravel, but i removed it due to people telling me about what it does. With sand, could i get it from a standard pet store (pet barn) and do i have to soak it or attach it to something so i doesn't make a mess?

Essentially, how did you set your tank up with sand?



Jawdoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
ChristianV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 72
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: ChristianV has shown reliable knowledge
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

You can get pool filter sand or play sand from A hardware store. You only need to rinse the sand out in a bucket with water until the water taint is clear. Then you can lay the sand Down in the tank. 24 hours later the water will not be cloudy anymore. I recommend to put only a inch of sand so anaerobic gas does not build up in tiny holes in the sand. If you are planning to use more than an inch, every water change move the sand around to prevent build up.



__________________
1 Ambystoma tigniruim
1 Ambystoma Maculatum
PM me about Herping or keeping Caudates in the illinois area!
ChristianV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013   #6 (permalink)
Prolific Member
 
HayleyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 1,201
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 1
Rep: HayleyK has given good advice and informationHayleyK has given good advice and information
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

Yeah I got my sand from pet barn, I have used Pisces natural products quartz sand before and worked perfectly fine. I then switched to another sand, I forgot the name but it comes in 5 or 10 kg packs with a black label and I think a white/ red gold fish on it?

Wash it out throughly, I poured bit by bit in a small bucket, rinsed and rinsed and rinsed it. And then rinsed it.. And then put it in the other clean bucket and repeat. I scooped it out of the bucket with a cup and placed it gently on the floor, you can just plonk it in but it makes the water extremely cloudy at first, the cup kind of keeps it at the bottom. After a day the fine sand particles will settle and just siphon it out. Happy days!

You can also used play sand from bunnings or mitre 10 but requires more washing and rinsing and only comes in one colour. You can also silicon the sand down but I don't .. It's easier to rearrange things, I make little dips and hills for my axolotl to play in and can always reroot plants elsewhere when they get dug up.



HayleyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 125
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Jawdoss is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

Cool. i will try and get some from pet barn, and i will rinse it out. Ill just 'plonk' it in the tank before i add water to the new one. So the water won't get as cloudy :). I am going to let the water settle down and I'm going to run a water test before putting my Axies in it!! :)
I just need to find a filter
Don't have much money so i have to either wait a while or ask around.
This is the tank that i bought
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/mudge...and/1032097955



Jawdoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013   #8 (permalink)
Prolific Member
 
HayleyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 1,201
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 1
Rep: HayleyK has given good advice and informationHayleyK has given good advice and information
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

Bargain!!

It's pretty much the same as plonking in water and plonking sand in then adding water. When you pour the water in it'll disturb the sand anyways, but if you aren't going to put your babies in, either way is fine!

If you're strapped for cash there are many hang on back filter than will work, my one has worked fine for my 3 ft tank and cost be $60.00.

Canisters are probably better but are like double the price.



HayleyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 125
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Jawdoss is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayleykahnita View Post
Bargain!!

It's pretty much the same as plonking in water and plonking sand in then adding water. When you pour the water in it'll disturb the sand anyways, but if you aren't going to put your babies in, either way is fine!

If you're strapped for cash there are many hang on back filter than will work, my one has worked fine for my 3 ft tank and cost be $60.00.

Canisters are probably better but are like double the price.
I have a 200L/h hang on filter, that is in my other tank. But if i take that out and put it in this one, it will probably not be big enough, and will leave my other tank with no filter.

In theory i could make a PVC canister filter and just hook up my 400L/H pump to it. Couldn't i?



Jawdoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013   #10 (permalink)
Prolific Member
 
HayleyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 1,201
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 1
Rep: HayleyK has given good advice and informationHayleyK has given good advice and information
Default Re: Setting up my tank with substrate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawdoss View Post
I have a 200L/h hang on filter, that is in my other tank. But if i take that out and put it in this one, it will probably not be big enough, and will leave my other tank with no filter.

In theory i could make a PVC canister filter and just hook up my 400L/H pump to it. Couldn't i?
I wouldn't have a clue how to make a filter but I'm sure there's plenty of YouTube videos on how to make one



HayleyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4ft, axolotl, eating, gravel, rocks, substrate, tank

LinkBack
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads

Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: Help with setting up a tank! Night walker Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 4 28th June 2012 11:54
Setting Up New Tank =] robbie257 Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 1 24th April 2008 09:01
setting up my new tank ali000 Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 3 5th April 2008 09:09
Setting up new tank Lisa Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 1 29th December 2007 06:36
Setting up a new tank audrey Newt and Salamander Help 8 4th June 2006 18:24


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43.