The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

I have axolotl eggs... and lots of them! -First timer!

This is a discussion on I have axolotl eggs... and lots of them! -First timer! within the Axolotl Eggs, Larvae & Breeding forums, part of the Axolotls (Ambystoma mexicanum) category; Hi guys, I am just posting here mainly for help and guidance as I'm quite new at this and want ...

Axolotl Eggs, Larvae & Breeding Eggs everywhere, how did that happen? Will it be albino or wildtype?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th May 2012   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Kirby has started on the right path
Default I have axolotl eggs... and lots of them! -First timer!

Hi guys,

I am just posting here mainly for help and guidance as I'm quite new at this and want to get it right but also to let anybody know that I have eggs if they want any!

They were laid on Tuesday 15th May (5 days ago!) by my black axolotl, Juggernaught, (that i thought was a boy!) She is in a tank with 2 males (one black and one albino pink/white).

I took the eggs out of the axxie tank and into their own tank with an air stone and have been monitoring them.

Most of them look fertile from what information i can gather.. they all turned into a 'eye' shape on the 4th day and now they are looking even bigger and kidney shaped. They're definitely forming!

Here are a few photos of the development...

The day they were laid

Click the image to open in full size.

Yesterday (and the mom!)

Today (5 days later!)

How do you guys think they are looking? Fertile or not?

Thanks for any help and i have LOADS so if anybody wants any, just give me a shout! :)

Kirby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2012   #2 (permalink)

Nationality: