The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Green frog survival without water/food - Writing question

This is a discussion on Green frog survival without water/food - Writing question within the General Discussion and Identification forums, part of the Anura: Frogs & Toads category; Hello, I joined this forum because I'm a fiction writer and a frog character features heavily in the series I'm ...

General Discussion and Identification Not sure what you've got or seen? Ask here.

Like Tree6Likes
  • 4 Post By Chinadog
  • 1 Post By Sith the turtle
  • 1 Post By michaelgrace

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th June 2016   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: MeganM is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Green frog survival without water/food - Writing question

Hello,

I joined this forum because I'm a fiction writer and a frog character features heavily in the series I'm writing, so I'm hoping you won't mind if I pop in and ask a strange question from time to time. A couple of years ago, I asked here about frogs and alcohol, and the book in which the frog character absorbs some alcohol has now been published. That one is the first in a series, and I'm now writing the third in the series, which is a retelling of the fairy tale The Frog Prince.

Here are my current questions:

How long can a green frog survive without access to water? I have found multiple conflicting answers on the Internet, and am wondering if anyone here knows for sure or can make a good educated guess.

What about survival time without access to food? I have read that it's much longer because the frog can hibernate to conserve energy, so how long might a frog go without food before its body determined that hibernation was the best bet?

Thanks so much for any help you can offer.

MeganM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016   #2 (permalink)