The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Frogs and Alcohol - Writing Question

This is a discussion on Frogs and Alcohol - Writing Question within the General Discussion and Identification forums, part of the Anura: Frogs & Toads category; Hello, I joined this forum because I'm a fiction writer and a frog character features heavily in the series I'm ...

General Discussion and Identification Not sure what you've got or seen? Ask here.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By sergé

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th October 2013   #1 (permalink)

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: MeganM is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Frogs and Alcohol - Writing Question

Hello,

I joined this forum because I'm a fiction writer and a frog character features heavily in the series I'm writing, so I'm hoping you won't mind if I pop in and ask a strange question from time to time. Here's the first:

If a frog were to drink/absorb alcohol (wine, a gulp or two) would that kill it? Would it anesthetize it? Would the frog go stumbling about drunkenly? I've searched for an answer to this question and can't find one. Probably because it's not the type of thing people generally go around testing. Still, I thought I'd ask in case anyone has ideas. (Don't worry, I'm not killing any frogs, even fictionally - it's a fairy tale story.)

Also, do frogs ever drink through the mouth, or are all liquids absorbed through the skin?

MeganM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2013   #2 (permalink)
Prolific Member

Nationality:
Rep: sergé is a mainstay of Caudata.orgsergé is a mainstay of Caudata.orgsergé is a mainstay of Caudata.orgsergé is a mainstay of Caudata.orgsergé is a mainstay of Caudata.orgsergé is a mainstay of Caudata.orgsergé is a mainstay of Caudata.orgsergé is a mainstay of Caudata.org
Default Re: Frogs and Alcohol - Writing Question