violent swimming, itching, and floating

glittrbabe

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi!! this is my first time posting to this forum and if I'm being honest, I was having a hard time navigating the site, so I'm not even sure this is the right place to ask a question haha. Hopefully it is though, so I can get some advice...

I have two axolotls currently in a 29-gallon tank (melanoid and leucistic) and recently, the leucistic one (Peach) has been acting very strangely. I noticed her swimming extremely erratically and violently beginning around a week ago and it hasn't stopped since. The violent swimming is often triggered immediately after she eats (her appetite has not decreased). Sometimes she'll curl around and try to scratch at her gills, and other times she'll just swim frantically and smash into the decorations and walls. I heard that this can be an indication of gill fungus, but her gills look fluffy, long, and healthy with no signs of a fungus. On top of all of that, she's also been floating a LOT recently. And although this can be normal behavior, it's really out of the ordinary for her. I tubbed her two nights ago to help relax her because I thought the floating was stressing her out, and for a while, in the morning she was better, but by the evening she was floating again. I did two water tests last week and all of the parameters came back okay, so I'm not entirely sure what I should do to help her, but I hate seeing her like this. My melanoid (Salem) has been completely fine throughout all of this. Thanks for taking the time to read this!! Hopefully someone has some advice):

HI

First things first

Temp
pH
High range pH
Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrate
GH
KH
what conditioner?
what foods?
what substrate?
When was the tank set up?

Sorry for all the questions but it helps immensely

HI

First things first

Temp
pH
High range pH
Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrate
GH
KH
what conditioner?
what foods?
what substrate?
When was the tank set up?