What type of filter is best?

thaddeus300

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, im a beginner and I need help. I have two axolotls each are about 5 inches in a. 30gallon tank. Currently I have a hang on back filter for 30 gallon. But I'm not sure if that's too much. I've read about sponge filters and I'm wondering if that would be the better option. So what's the best type of filter? Should I stick with the hang on or switch to a sponge. And if I do switch to a sponger is there anything specific I need to know about them? Thank you to your time!

It depends how powerful your Hang On Back is. I have a HOB that was too powerful, so I modified it. Sponge filters are what 90% of Axolotl keepers use, and the better option.

I prefer external canister filters for my axolotl tanks, since they provide better mechanical filtration. But I like sponge filters in general, and sponge filters (if driven with an air pump) do not raise water temperature. The sand in the axolotl tank killed the HOB I tried ... I think we must not have been careful enough about not stirring up sand near the intake.

What is "best" for you is more a matter of your preference, as long as the filter meets the axolotls needs (sufficient biological filtration, not too much water flow, doesn't heat water excessively.)

ok thank you for the reply. the filter i have is pretty powerful and it doesn't have flow control. I just want to make sure a sponge filter will really filter well in that large of a tank

Yes, a sponge will work, but it takes a lot of sponge since the axolotls add a lot of waste. So, for a 30 gal tank, get, say, 60 gal worth of sponge, and it should be fine.

Make sure you have multiple sponges, since they wear out and need replacing, and if you have multiple, you can replace them one at a time (with several weeks in between) without having to cycle the tank all over again.