Floating axolotl problem solved

Status
Not open for further replies.

Overmind

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is also in a blog I wrote, but I'm still learning my way around this site. LOL Anyway, I thought I would also post this here so that it's more visible, as I've seen that many axolotl owners are having issues with floating axies

I've noticed many people are wondering how to stop their axies from floating. I was shocked to see such a wide array of answers, some of which are just awful. Refrigeration? Withholding food? One post even asked if the concerned owner tested for ammonia levels. What?!

Anyway, what works for me is to use a plastic ladle with small holes in it, like a colander. My axie knows the routine, so he is glad to swim into the ladle on his own. I slowly raise him completely out of the water for about 5 to 10 seconds, then slowly put him back in. He happily and effortlessly swims to the bottom. Try this first before doing anything extreme, like refrigeration or withholding food. You may have to repeat this from time to time, but only do it if your axie is floating for inordinate amounts of time. Generally speaking, this is not a huge problem, as they will eventually sink to the bottom on their own. But raising them out of the water solves the issue immediately and is also a great excuse to bond with your pet. :happy:

Hope this helps someone.

I think if your axolotl stops floating after you raise him above water, it probably wasn't a serious issue in the first place. When I kept axolotls inside there was one that would occasionally float for short periods of time but if you gently touched him he would swim straight back to the bottom and stay here.