Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

An ambitous tank setup idea.

Jing kob

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to axolotls, but have had aquariums and a blue spotted jefferson in the past.
I've recently acquired a 55 gallon tank and hope to have it set up and ready for a cupple axolotls in a month or two.
I'm planning a rather complicated setup and was interested in advice and input. the things I'm working on for this tank include
- converting a mini fridge into a chilled water reservoir for maintaining 60f
- building a hydroponic green wall as a large bio filter
- building an under tank multiple compartment filter in a 10 gallon tank
- using aquiferius karst in tank
- using limestone and tufa in a medium reactor on a separate tank to condition water for my water changes.
I'm basing my goal water chemistry off the water from banten springs here in austin, since we have three endemic aquatic salamander species living happily in there.
I really appreciate any imput you all may have! thanks in advance!

Leash44

Reaction score
Wow, I hope you can post pictures of your setup once you have all that, it would be interesting to see. The one thing that jumps out at me is that I read on a previous thread about which rocks are and are not safe for axolotls and limestone was on the unsafe list. Not sure why, but it was. I tried to link the thread for you but my phone is not cooperating with the paste feature. :/

sde

Reaction score
Limestone raises pH. Which is fine if you have soft water, but you can only use it in small quantities.

Jing kob

Reaction score