Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

New axie owner :-)

anjelloca

Reaction score
Hey guys I’m new here!!!!!! My name’s Jello, I’ve posted an intro post in the introductions page already but I wanted to post my general story here. This is my first time owning anything other than a cat or a dog but I've been researching axolotls for the last 3 years while I was in vet tech school so bear with me.

So I finally moved into a big enough house to keep an aquarium. It’s a 25 gallon with a medium sized Reptofilter that I’m changing out every week. It’s taken me almost a year to cycle because the store I bought my axolotl from is extremely particular about who they sell their animals to. I’ve had my water tested every week at their store and either my ammonia or nitrates were always too high (a friend had given me her old tank she kept saltwater fish in). I finally got my tank at good parameters using Seachem’s Stability & Prime and adopted my first axolotl a little more than a week ago!