Tank parameters?

anjelloca

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
JELLO ♡
Obviously water testing is still new to me even though I've been doing it myself twice a week for the last 3 months. I've never had any problems or worries with anything until this last week but I might just be overprotective considering my axolotls haven't shown any signs of stress (yet).

I'm using the 5-n-1 test strips to check nitrites, nitrates, hardness, alkalinity, and pH as well as an API liquid tester for ammonia. (i'm waiting until I run out of the test strips to get liquid testers for everything)

Lately the readings have looked like this even with weekly 30% water changes and cleaning poop out of the tank daily:

25gal with 1 adult
Nitrates: 20ppm
Nitrites: 0.5-1.0 ppm
pH: 7.8
Ammonia: 0.25ppm
Temp: 69

10gal with 2 tiny juvies (i'm doing 50% water changes weekly with this one)
Nitrates: 20ppm
Nitrites: 0.5-1.0ppm
pH: 7.8
Ammonia: 0.25-0.5ppm
Temp: 69

Am I overreacting? My nitrites and ammonia has just always read 0 until this last week and I'm not sure when I should go into panic mode.

Side note: the 2 juvies were added into the 10gal on Thursday. I just didn't think the nitrates and ammonia would go up so fast

Unfortunately, test strips are notoriously unreliable you should really just rely on the liquid kits, honestly if you were really concerned you should double check your test strips with a liquid kit (i.e. get a liquid kit now, you could continue using the strips but it would really be better for all the babies if you were more sure with a liquid kit).
But to be more on point and assume the strips are accurate, your cycle could have hiccuped or even crashed. Do a water change and continue testing twice weekly or maybe every 2-3 days. The axies likely won't show signs of stress until it's too late so that's really not a reliable thing to look for either.