Tank cleaning after death

Meggiek14

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi,

Unfortunately my Axi got a fungal infection that he just couldn't fight off :-( he passed away a week ago and I now would like to look at getting another. Just wondering about how I go setting up a new tank? How do I clean it to ensure that the tank is safe for Axi #2.

While I have had aquariums before the world of Axi's are very new to me so want to make sure I do the correct thing. I am devastated about my previous one passing so don't want it to happen again.

Meg

The Indiana axolotl colony suggests using baking soda and kosher (or any non-iodized ) salt mixture (I believe 1:1) to safely clean tanks . I'm not experienced in fungal sterilization but I would think using a small amount amphibian safe anti-fungal medication as a final wipe inside the aquarium couldn't hurt . I'm sure others will post more helpful info.

Well, I know not the safest but my axolotls (2) are still living anyway this is what I did to clean it:
(Short version of what happened) My axolotl got a prolapse sadly died, so I knew to either clean it for other axolotls to go in. So thats what I did. I used the milton baby sterilizer which cleaned it. I filled my tank up and poured the milton in. I also sterilized everything else. Then after they were sterilized I gave it a really good clean with normal tap water. Make sure to scrub! After I cleaned it all I filled it up and cycled it etc. Then a couple of weeks later I got 2 new axolotls. Put them in and hadn't have a problem with them since! (Been like 1 1/2 years now)
There is better ways. But if you sterilize it, run it through water MULTIPLE times! :happy:
Sorry for your loss as well :(

I would try and figure out what happened to your first axie. Fungus doesn't kill healthy axies, I would say there was more going on.