Illness/Sickness: Axolotl Leg Falling off

sonicdorothy

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here, I have had axolotls for about 5 months now

I have 2 in the same tank, dorothy (my first axy) and sonic, who i got about a month ago.

I noticed yesterday sonics front legs skin had started coming off, i thought dorothy must have bitten him but signed up to this forum anyway just incase. I just got activated so I'll show you whats happened since then in the photos... his leg has pretty much come off, and now the end of his tail and ends of his other toes are going the same way.

Photos are pretty grizzly.

I have taken him out and put him in new water in the fridge, can you please tell me what else I should do!?

Or what medication I need to help him? I'm in Australia. I found some "Multi Cure for fungal diseases" i used on my fish a few years ago, it says it helps white spot, velvet disease and has malachite green, methylene blue and acriflavine in it.

I'll have another look at the threads on here but if someone could respond asap I'd be greatly appreciative!! :( :(

Attachments

• 11124219_1456435151341260_585503049_n.jpg
    11124219_1456435151341260_585503049_n.jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 3,736
  • 11418211_1456435124674596_465249491_n.jpg
    11418211_1456435124674596_465249491_n.jpg
    49.8 KB · Views: 691
  • 11651255_1456435171341258_1884516063_n.jpg
    11651255_1456435171341258_1884516063_n.jpg
    58.2 KB · Views: 931
Where in Australia are you? It's winter so fridging shouldn't be needed unless you're in the warmer parts.

It doesn't look like fungus to me - in my experience the gills are the first places to show signs of fungus & your axies feathery fronds look fine.

So I'm guessing it could've been a bite from Dorothy
I've got a couple of questions for you.

- are they similiar sized axies?
- what do you feed them?
- what is your tank temperature?
- what are your tank parameters - ammonia / nitrite / nitrAte?