Anorexic axolotl???

yasmolina

Reaction score
Country
Australia
hello!
About a week ago, I had rescued an adorable little axolotl! It's my first time owning one. I've done my research and reading prior to buying him food and setting up his tank; I have the water at around 18 degrees Celcius (its been treated for ammonia and the likes of course).
I'm trying to feed him bloodworms and these pellets that were given to me when I rescued him from previous owner.
The problem is this. When I rescued him, he had swallowed a few pebbles that must've been in his tank before. So I waited and about 2 days ago he pooped them all out. I had bought bloodworms that same day and tried to feed him. He'd been in the tank for a while so I thought he would eat. He went for the bloodworms but didn't seem to swallow them and I'm not sure he actually got anything in. Now since he's pooped all the pebbles out he looks very skinny, I'd say anorexic, and he's not eating at all. He walks/swims around a bit and it looks like he's very slightly floating; like he's not heavy enough to stay down properly. He won't eat and I'm concerned at how terribly skinny he looks. I don't know what to do!

Did you cycle the tank before adding him and have you tested the parameters? It is good to ensure good water quality to rule out issues with water quality and to ensure he has the best conditions for recovery.

Axolotls will sometimes not eat when they have just moved to a new home so he may be adjusting to his new home. He may be feeling quite weak also if he is super skinny and there may be other factors especially not knowing his history from the previous owner. Could you post some photos?