Tank Setup

Mikayla

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi All,
I have just got myself my first juvenile axolotl so I am a beginner to the axolotl world and this forum.
I was wondering if someone could please let me know if this set up is okay for my baby.
It is very plain and simple and boring at the moment but I have just started. I have also read that sand is better for older axis so I am holding off on the sand until he/she gets older.
Any help would be great!
Thanks in advance :D

Attachments

• 20150811_223038.jpg
    20150811_223038.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 244
Is the skull is real or a plastic tank decoration? If it is real- I would get it out- it may leach chemicals into the water. Otherwise, you may want another hide. You will find that axolotls are okay with simple- humans like different degrees of decoration. The more crevices and decorations you have- the more places the poop will hide/collect.

Hi, thank you for your response.
The skull is just a plastic tank decoration. Should this be okay?

I hate to be that person (mainly because I desperately want a skull decoration for my tank too) but I don't think it's a particularly good decor item, axies like to squeeze into thihngs and yours could get stuck in it or hurt itself trying to get in/out of it. I would look into stuff more like fake/real plants or like a reptile hide?

Ahh, that is a good point!
Plants are a little hard at the moment as i dont have any substrate to weight them down in, I had troubles getting that one above to stay down! :/ Was planning on get more plants when i can put sand in there when he gets bigger.

Aquatic Hornwort (ceratophyllum), duckweed, frogbit and such are great starters. Floating plants that dont require substrate and soak up annoying nitrogen products and provide cover. Cheap to get and dont require much light or care.

Sorry, I'm a plant pusher. :D