New to fire bellys

23matt3

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys, I'm very new to fire bellys. How long does it take for them to acclimate to the tank? I currently have a 20 gallon with two newts. They swim every now and then but for the most part stay on their log and haven't eaten since I've gotten them. I have fed them bloodworms and earthworms and they won't even budge. I'm just worried that I'm starving them and don't want to kill them.

A picture of your tank would be good so we can see what your setup is like cause environment can be a big cause of stress and not eating and is your tank fully cycled?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The water looks green, it's just the light reflecting off the plants

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 134
Yes it should be. I had it running with some fish almost a month before I got the fire bellys.

Get some water test kits to make sure your ammonia,nitrite and nitrate are good and add lots of more plants firebellys love plants and the more the better. How long have you had them and where did you get them? If there new to the tank it could just take awhile for them to settle in and adding more plants will help with that and if there from a pet store chances are there wild caught so there stress levels might be through the roof because of all the travel overcrowding and sickness that goes along with it...so just give them the best conditions you can make sure the water is good and lots more plants

If you still have fish in there, I would remove them. This may be deterring them from entering the water. As Doomus suggested, do check your water quality too.
I encourage newts to enter water by dropping the water level to maybe an inch and just have a plants breaking the surface. As they start to adapt to the water, slowly raise it.

I got them from a store and I've had them only for a few days