Illness/Sickness: Strange bacterial bloom and injury?

Astro

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hello friends!
I'm new to the forum, and I joined up to try and get some advice for my axolotl! The first axolotl I've ever had, so i'm still a bit of a newbie haha!

I got him a few months ago, the tank was cycled, he was healthy and, although it took him a week or so to eat, he was now eating like a mad thing! I managed fatten him up so his head and belly were the same and he looked healthy, never showed a sign of stress.
Then a week ago the water went a little yellow so i assumed i needed to replace the carbon in my filter, and I also ran out of water conditioner (I use regular API) so i popped down to the pet store. They were out of regular conditioner, but had a amphibian/newt/turtle one. I googled and asked and it seemed fine so i got it.

Anyway, I got home and started using it, and suddenly there was a bacterial bloom. I'd had one in a fish tank so i wasn't too worried about it but i checked the ammonia, which was at 1ppm! I did a water change, and it went down, but continued to be cloudy for a few days so waited a bit, and kept checking, then one night the water was significantly cloudier, axie seemed stressed (gills forward for the first time) and it was at 4ppm(!!!!!!!) I had read to get the axolotl out so i got a small spare tank and put him in there. I noticed that the ammonia seems to have burnt away a small angular chunk of his tail, and it was red and veiny. He didn't eat for a day, was not interested at all.

Today, I got the usual water conditioner as i think it was the cause of it all. Axie doesn't seem stressed, gills back, tail not curved, eating (yay!) and his wound seems to clean and not fluffy. I've been doing 90% water changes in his tank and he seems okay.

A few questions after that info dump (sorry if its too much info haha)!
1) What is the best course of action returning his usual tank back to normal? What % of water change do you recommend?