Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

My axolotls have anchor worms

Lorena

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to owning axolotls and really need some help.

About 6 months ago I was given an axolotl that was in a really bad way. She had no gills and I'm pretty sure she would have died if I hadn't stepped in. Anyway she was fine until my husband decided to get her a friend for her tank and a gold spot pleco to try and keep the mess down in the tank. Pleco is gone now because I caught it munching on her gills again. Her gills are taking forever to grow back and I have noticed that they both have anchor worms. My original axie is happy to have the salt baths I've been giving them but the new one seems to get very stressed. Can anyone recommend a way to get rid of the parasites without putting any further stress on them?

Lorena

Reaction score
Thanks for your reply and the threads. I've had a look through them and am going to start fridgeing them too. Might sound like a dumb question but can anyone tell me how I know if they are gone? I mean do they die and have to be removed or do they fall off? Just so i can tell if my axies are cured or not.

Bette

Reaction score
I'm really not sure how you tell they are cleared completely. I have heard that you aren't supposed to remove them, because you can injure the animal. I would be very thorough and use extra sanitizing precautions, and quarantine for a good six months after treatment.
These little nightmares are incredibly hard to get rid of from what I've heard.

Just today, I observed a fancy goldfish covered in anchor worms at a local petco. I informed the staff.... ** note to self.... Don't buy fish from this petco!!**