Rough Skinned Newts

tyjorg

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, I am a teacher and last school year for a class project we hatched rough skinned newts from a egg sack we found in a pound. 11 hatched and are still alive today. We are just wondering when they will be ready to get out of the water, we thought it would be now, but they seem content in the water. They hatched in late February so around 7 months old.

Another thing, we got some brine shrimp eggs we are going to hatch and feed to the fish we have in the class and were thinking about the newts. Is this a good idea? Do brine shrimp live in fresh water long enough to get eaten? Thanks.

Tyler

Attachments

• IMG_20150507_112747150.jpg
    IMG_20150507_112747150.jpg
    126.5 KB · Views: 1,699
Hey Tyler,

In my experience with Rough skinned newts near Seattle, the larvae will metamorphose in October, usually around the 20th, though it depends on the year. In a classroom however, that might change since there is not the natural temperatures indoors. Either way they should metamorphose withing the next few months.
That setup is very nice by the way!

Brine shrimp wouldn't be a good idea in that setup, once they die they will be very hard to remove and pollute the water quickly.

Hope this helps! -Seth

I second what Seth says. If the newts are big enough, chopped Canadian Nightcrawlers (Not red wigglers or the bait and compost worm) are a fantastic staple food

Thanks guys for the advice. One of our newts is getting very big and we are hoping he comes out of the water soon.

Does it have front and back legs? Also would love more pictures anyways!