Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Aggressive axolotl

monkeh

Reaction score
I recently inherited two axolotls from someone who could no longer care for them. I was (and mostly still am) a complete novice in axolotl care.

When I took them on, they were separated with a glass divider. The previous owner told me that the wild type had previously bitten off the albino's foot. Their former living conditions weren't optimal, so after rearranging their tank and getting the water parameters up to scratch I thought that with less stress, they'd get along fine.

They seemed all right for a few weeks. Then I noticed a chunk missing from the albino's tail. I left them to it, assuming it was probably an accident. Then I saw the wildtype grab the albino's foot in her mouth and shake it around. I thought it would be better to separate them for a bit, which I did. After two weeks of being back together for the second time, the albino has another chunk out of her tail.

The wildtype is definitely the more aggressive, and she's a little bigger - she will often try to attack the gravel pump, my hand, the turkey baster - anything that goes into the tank. Are the attacks likely just in her nature? I don't like to separate them as they each end up with less space and they like to swim, but equally I don't want the albino to be hurt.

AxolotlChris

Reaction score
Wildtype do tend to be more aggressive, and it is in Axolotl's nature to snap when they sense movement as that's how they catch their prey, by sucking in water which pulls the prey into their mouth.