Losing weight and cant keep food down

duckhunter

Reaction score
Country
United States
One of my axololts has gotten very thin, I can see her ribs. I feed her the same as my other axolotl that she lives with. She has beem less actively lately as well and has been getting picked on by the other one. I dont know how much food she has been actually keeping down because sometime she will throw up a worm and the other one will eat it. She usually active and excited at meal time but today she wasnt interested.
I feed them earthworms, frozen/thawed blood worms and sometimes a feeder rosy red minnow as a treat.
I suspect worms/parasites based on the weight loss but Im not sure
What do you think?

Re: Loosing weight and cant keep food down

I'm no expert but I was reading in my veterinary manuals about amphibians and their diseases, the other day, since a guy in another thread had problems with his Axie.
There were a lot of different things that could cause emaciation and loss of appetite.
Different types of parasites, infections, organ failure, fungus, stress, flaws in water parameters, etc.

But what you need to do immediately - is to separate her from the other one, before something really bad happens. I had to put my female axie to sleep yesterday for exactly this reason - she had been losing weight since she'd been eating poorly - and when she got weaker - one of the others attacked her and tore off a large part of one of her front legs.
The wound got infected and killed her even if I tried my best for a couple of days, to save her, by fridging and salt baths and trying to get her to eat.

So - to avoid possible injuries from the other Axie - remove her and put her in some other aquarium or any kind of container. It's natural for animals to pick on the weak, sometimes chase them away and even to feed on them, so she's a sitting duck while with the other one.