Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: What kind of Salamanders do I have??? Help ASAP please!

leatherlung

Reaction score
Hello, all! This is my very first time posting, so I apologize if I am not in the right forum or just not doing this correctly. But I have a huge question that I greatly need assistance on ASAP! I've been an axolotl owner for about a year now. So about a month ago I purchased two (what I thought were) axolotls from a guy who didn't know anything about axolotls, salamanders, etc... They looked like Axolotls when I got them, but I noticed one of them started to lose it's gills, like they were shrinking. I posted on Reddit asking what they were and people were telling me they were a type of salamander. I just want to know what kind it is? I live in the USA (Utah to be precise). I know they are salamanders for sure now because I took the little guy without gills out of the water to see if he could breath and he can, so I transferred him to a terrarium with dampened Sphagnum moss and a water bin/rock/cave combo thing and he is totally outta the water burrowing in the moss! I have attached some photos. They are quite little 411. Everything I read said that they usually morph when they're bigger, but my little one just went for it young! Please let me know if you know what kind of salamander this is and any pointers will be much appreciated since I am totally new to this species! Thank you XOXO

Attachments

• both.jpg
    both.jpg
    129.5 KB · Views: 187
  • salamandar 2.jpg
    salamandar 2.jpg
    132 KB · Views: 169
  • salamandar 3.jpg
    salamandar 3.jpg
    126.8 KB · Views: 140
  • IMG_6621.jpg
    IMG_6621.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 144

sde