Looking to get eggs for disappointed students!

Karen Roth

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello!
This is the first post on this forum for me!
I was given four young axolotls for my classroom last year and we were surprised with eggs in mid November! As I am a high school biology teacher in a small school this was truly exciting although unexpected!

About 1/2 the eggs were developing and several had hatched when the water got very cloudy over-night and all the embryo's and new hatchlings died except 1.

Many of my students hoped to adopt one of the juveniles and were really disappointed.

I am looking to buy some eggs or juveniles but I can not yet post on the for sale section because I am a newbie!

Does anyone have advice on how best to locate eggs for purchase
1) How far away can they be shipped from?
2) what is the success rate for survival (should I buy many more than I need just in case?)
3) do they do better if you buy the least developed or should thay be almost at the hatching stage?

Any advice I could get would be appreciated!

Do eggs survive best or

Can you look at the for sale section? If so you cold private message the sellers. If they kids are looking to adopt them do they know how to care for them properly? Things like aquarium cycles, water parameter testing, proper foods and the like are very important for axolotl to survive especially young ones. My mom is a small school teacher so I know how busy you are, but would it be possible to have a pamphlet made for them with basic care info? If you are interested in this I should have quite a bit of free time in the coming months.

1) From my understanding It is pretty common to do overnight shipping from pretty much in the US with little problem regardless of age. (some ages might do better though)
2) This probably depends on how old/large the kind you get are. The sellers/breeders on this site will hopefully reply.