Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Clear slime

Devyn

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am new to this forum and I am also new to the axolotl world.

Floyd moved in on Wednesday and unfortunately we listened to the pet store employee and didn’t cycle the tank first (but I obtained some filter media from an established fresh water tank and put it into my new filter). :(
After he arrived he threw up 3 small snails, he was gagging for another 3-4 minutes and then he seemed to be fine and explored his new home.
Yesterday morning I fed him a red wiggler and he seemed to like it. I also did a 20% water change (water parameters were: ph: 7.4, nitrite: 0 ppm, nitrate: 0 ppm, ammonia: 0 ppm, water temperature: 69 degrees).
In the evening he pooped and in his poo were 14 tiny snails (much smaller than the snails he threw up the day before). I, of course, removed everything immediately.
This morning I checked the water parameters again (pH: 7.4, nitrite: 0 ppm, nitrate: 0 ppm, ammonia: 0.25 ppm, water temperature: 68.8 degrees) so I changed 25% of the water ( I am using aged tap water and a dechlorinator.). I tried to feed him a red wiggler, but he refused.
After the water change I noticed clear slime coming out of his cloaca and it seems kinda stuck there. His cloaca doesn’t seem to be swollen, though.
He looks pretty stressed out and doesn’t move around a lot, he actually is hiding in his house the entire morning. I am wondering, if he’s digesting the snails (or snail houses) he has been eating at the store or if something else is wrong with him?

Thanks in advance for your help. I appreciate it. :)

Devyn

Reaction score