Fungus on Axolotl Gills?

careydimple33

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys!

Today I was feeding my axolotls and I noticed that one had what almost looked like a feather on his gill. I looked it up and it seemed to me that it could be possible he has fungus on his gills. Since he is my first axolotl and I'm still new to the game, I wanted to post a picture on here to make sure that's what it is and how to fix it and what exactly is causing this.

Or maybe it's just something else.

Thanks guys! The pictures are attached to this post.

Attachments

• IMG_0953.JPG
    IMG_0953.JPG
    88.6 KB · Views: 1,379
  • IMG_0955.JPG
    IMG_0955.JPG
    83.6 KB · Views: 876
  • IMG_0956.JPG
    IMG_0956.JPG
    76.2 KB · Views: 652
Yes it does look like fungus.

Fungus usually begins to grow due to poor water quality, and/or high temperature.

Questions to answer:

1. Is your tank cycled?

2. What is the water temperature?

Yes! The tank is cycled and the water temperature is at 68. I checked the water yesterday and everything is where it was supposed to do. The pH is a little low right now, but I didn't think that would cause these issues. I figured today I do a complete water change and see if that helps anything?

Doing a 100% water change could crash your cycle, since it would remove all Ammonia and Nitrites leaving nothing for the bacteria to feed off.

Can you post your exact test results for Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates, and PH?

Your temperature is on the high side, optimum temperature is 16-18 degrees Celsius.