Hi from New Jersey, with a few questions

shoeboxlid

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, im a newbie from New Jersey, aaand I have a few questions. To start, im interested in keeping fire bellied newts, or maybe salamanders (ill explain that later). So

1. I only just learned about the ban, AFTER I had set up my tank. I was wondering if there are any breeders in New Jersey that breed fire bellied newts (chinese or japanese, im okay with either).

2. Is this tank okay for fire bellied newts? Im adding a lot more plants, I just have to get them first (and im waiting to cycle it until I get everything I need in). Is there anything else I can add to make it a better tank? I feel like its missing a lot of things, but maybe it just feels like that because i dont have plants in yet. (im also changing the light, I just havent gotten it yet.) ALSO i have a turtle dock its just not in yet. I wanna make it the best i can ^u^
shoeboxlid-albums-fbn-tank-picture38224-newt-tank.jpg

If i cant find a breeder, Im going to go a reptile convention (even though they are amphibians, its worth a shot). If i can't find newts literally anywhere, I think i might try to get salamanders (if I can find those). In the case of getting salamanders, my tank would need more land than just a turtle dock, right?

(on the off chance nothing works, im gonna make it a community fish tank)

Thanks!

Hi, welcome to the site. :) With the turtle dock added and loads more plants (you can't have too many plants for firebellies), your tank will be fine. I've got a feeling newts will get very hard to find in most states now the ban is in place, but by the sound of it, it could be an option to get some eggs sent to raise your own, so maybe look into that if you can't find any adults.
You can find care sheets for most species here. :)

Caudata Culture Species Database - Salamandridae