Tank

widget1108

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to having axies as well as a fish tank. All the levels on my tank are good but I am not sure that it cycled?? It has not spiked. I have the axies in there and they are doing great. My main problem is that the water stays cloudy. My sponge filter was disgusting after about 2 weeks and I rinsed it a bit. Wrong!! Right? Cuz now the water is that much more cloudy. I havent seen the water clear since I started. I have no clue what I am doing or should do.

Chances are, your tank isn't cycled.

What are the readings for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and pH? Are you checking the readings every day? How big it the tank, and how big are the axolotls?

Usually cloudy water is due to a bacterial bloom, and it is very common while a tank is cycling. It can happen in a cycled tank, particularly if the tank is overcrowded or uneaten food gets left in the tank.

What you can do to reduce the problem is to do some big water changes. (It might take a couple spread out over a few days.) If your tank really is cycled, that won't hurt anything (assuming you are properly dechlorinating and using the same temperature water). If it is still cycling, it will slow down your cycle a bit, but it will probably make you feel happier. :happy:

What you should always do (if you aren't already) is clean up any leftover food and poop. You you have a turkey baster to suck up the waste? That is the easy way.

Thank you for responding! My levels have all been basically the same this whole time. I declorinate and have done a water change or two. I am picking up the food and waste.
On the big water changes, how much do i do? Or rather how do i do them? The axies are about 4 inches or so. There are 2. The tank is 20 gallons. Thank you again!