Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

New owner (cycling help)

Eoiee

Reaction score
Hi,

I just recently got two axolotls (less than 24 hours ago) one golden albino and one leucistic. I got a 30 gallon tank just under 3 foot long for them and have gotten hides plants Sand filter etc for them and treated water with dechlorinator. Feeding them a mix of earthworms bloodworms and brine shrimp right now and I've ordered pellets for them as well.

I'm afraid to say that I had no idea of cycling beforehand and now have them in an uncycled tank which I now know is never a good thing. After some research and forum reading I understand the cycling process and I have a master testing kit ordered to test the water. Had to go with Amazon as can't find the test in shops here.

However I am wondering what to do regarding my little guys, if I were to keep them in I'm fully prepared to do daily water changes and test ammonia and was going to start changes of 50% now while I wait for my kit to arrive. Would these water changes drastically stress out my axies, should I remove them each time?

I also read people saying to take them out and fridge them until the tank is cycled changing their water 100% daily. Would they be okay being refrigerated for that long? Our fridge is small so I don't want them to be cramped for so long i live in Ireland so we dont get heatwaves much so would they be viable in separate containers unrefrigerated?

I was thinking of doing both, taking them out and feeding them and refridge for a couple hours while I change water and let it settle? Then put them back and repeat?

I have about 9 live plants in the tank which I heard can speed up the process??