Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Fungal infection?

LozHodge

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Axolotl newbie here so I'm probably going to frustrate a lot of you! I apologise in advance but I really want to increase my knowledge on axolotl husbandry so my Wooper can be the happiest it can be.
Firstly I asked A LOT of questions in the pet shop I got him/her from (might need some help on sexing too!) I asked about filtration, temperature, how much to feed it etc etc as I had no idea what to do. Unfortunately, after stalking this forum for the past week, I realise I may have been told a load of rubbish. I was told any filter was fine, however after noticing how sedentary Wooper was and a lack of appetite, this is clearly not the case. I've since turned off the filter and Wooper has been eating a lot more and been a lot more active, so I was thinking about getting one of those porous stones that can oxygenate the water (anyone know if these are any good?) I was recommended to buy a tank I realise it is soooo so too small (don't worry, replacing tank tomorrow) and was also told it was fine to have a fishy friend in the tank with Wooper... Again, this is not the case and I'll be returning our poor fishy on Monday. I don't want everyone thinking I don't care, the pet shop was very ill informed and I feel really sorry for poor Wooper as he must have had a really stressful week.
After learning all this info I'm making sure to keep him/her a lot happier, but I have noticed woopers back leg is looking a little gammy. The back leg has been weird since we got Wooper but now after realising how much stress he/she's been under I was wondering what you guys thought:

image.jpg