Gill flaring illness-related?

terracotta

Reaction score
Country
Canada
I'm new to keeping axies (I got my boy around 3 weeks ago) and so I'm just going to describe the situation! I'd appreciate some feedback on whether or not his late behaviors could be signs of illnesses or problems that need rectifying (besides the obvious ones) Thanks in advance for any help!

A bit of background: I had done lots of research for around a year and planned to get an axolotl soon. I walked into my local fish store to see about live plants for a betta tank and i decided to have a look at the axies. They were selling albino babies (around an 1.5 inches long) and I just had to pick one up.

He's currently in a food container (he refused to eat in a larger tank) and is getting 100% water changes every day to every other day, depending. He eats around half to 3/4 of one of those frozen blocks of bloodworms every day to every other day. I went away for two days this week, and after instructing a family member on how to feed him, and telling them to feed him BOTH nights, I returned to find he had been fed neither night. I.e he ate Wednesday, and the next time I fed him was today, around 9 hours ago.

When i came home today, he was arched (to the side, he was in a loose C shape. I mention it because apparently this is a sign of stress). I offered him food immediately, and he ate around 70% of what he usually eats. He appeared to have lost interest so I changed his water and went to work.

When I returned again, he appeared normal. He was slightly curved but he looked happier, if that makes sense. I went about my duties and when I glanced over at him, he shot around his container very quickly, and then was still (sort of like how cats do that random running thing)

I left him in the dark for an hour or so and then returned to my room and turned a nearby light on (not too bright, the ambient one hes always exposed to) and decided to watch him for a bit.