Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axolotl Setup?

Jack P

Reaction score
Hey guys! I am new to the amphibian community but have always kept reptiles. Anyways... I am wondering if i got 2 or 3 baby axolotls, could i keep them in a 50g tank? i know that is big enough, but is it too big? also i am just about to start cycling so if you have any tips on how I should start, recommended filters, substrate, or anything else, it is greatly appreciated!

Stay honest, Stay yourself, and don't let anyone take those away from you. Someone loves you and if you change to fit someone else's needs, that isn't fair for anyone so stay strong!

Boston Strong! - Jack

Kilolotlkeeper

Reaction score
How big are the babies jack? I'm not sure you can get too big. A good substrate would be sand but you can keep the tank bare! A good filter is a sponge filter, good on the wallet too. Any filter with a very minute flow rate. Keep the tank oxygenated with an air stone or bubble wall. Don't forget to keep the tank cool with the highest temperature being 70 degrees Fahrenheit. They can survive 6 degrees Celsius waters so don't worry about getting too cold. Depending on how big they are they should be eating either bloodworms or earthworms if they are capable of eating them. 50 gal is plenty big enough for 2-3 axolotls. Make sure the water level isn't too high for the babies. If there is anything I didn't cover feel free to ask

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

NaterPotater

Reaction score