My tank isn't cycling! :/

JadeAnnette

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
AxieDaxie
So I've had my axies in their tank for a while now and I'm 99% sure my tank isn't cycling! Last time I did my test I had ph about 7.2/7.6 ammonia 0 nitrite 0 and nitrate 0
I've had some water sitting with some left over food and it's full of ammonia(4.0pmm/8.0pmm), I was wondering if the best option was to get my axies out and put that ammonia filled water in the tank?
I have plants and some guppies that the axies have been eating when peckish, I also feed them blood worms and have recently(yesterday) given them earth worms. I have another thread about my axolotls colour changing gills(maybe to do with the water) if anyone can help me out there too

(I'm still new to this sight so please bare with me :/)

Last edited:
I'm having a bit of trouble cycling my tank as well, it's super frustrating but hang in there! :)
I would recommend that you take your Axies out during this process, because the high levels of ammonia and nitrite you'll experience as the cycle builds will be super stressful on them and might compromise their health!
I would also suggest to get your hands on some liquid ammonia! You can find it in the cleaner section of supermarkets and home hardware stores, just make sure it's pure ammonia and not a cleaning product with scent or detergent added.. It should be clear and when you shake it there should be no bubbles or foam! :")
It's easier to use a small amount of the ammonia (just a few drops, it's very concentrated!) because this is quite an accurate way to determine exactly how much ammonia you'll be putting in your tank!
So I'd say your best course of action would be to remove the Axies, add enough liquid ammonia to get your tank to around 2.0 ppm and then wait for it to convert to nitrites!
There are plenty of articles online and threads here regarding more accurate steps to cycle using liquid ammonia! :)
Good luck and keep us updated! <3