Howdy from Texas (soon to be in St. Louis!)

Garurumon

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Allison
Hey there! I'm a student majoring in English and minoring in biology, hoping to apply to medical school after a year of post-baccalaureate studies in St. Louis. I'm currently a cat owner and an axolotl enthusiast, and have been seriously considering owning a nice cute lucy. I think it'll make a great apartment roommate. :D For now I'm diligently looking into facts and advice from great people on here before I order.

As my avatar implies, I'm a Pokemon and manga/anime fan, so I'd love to chat with anyone who shares the same interests. Speaking of anime, names I've been thinking for a potential axolotl are Hakumen, Hakuryuu, Hakuei, or Galatea (all favorite anime characters of mine). All the names have "white" in them, and leucistic axolotls are white, so there you go.

Anyways, I look forward to learning a lot and having fun on this site!

Welcome to the forum, and welcome in advance to St. Louis! I've lived in St. Louis my entire life, but I'm moving to Wisconsin in June. You thinking SLU or Wash U?

Make sure you read all you can about axolotls before you get one. Once everything is set up properly, they're pretty straightforward. However, the initial setup is NOT straightforward. Read all you can about the nitrogen cycle (you can search "cycle" in the search bar thing in the top right of this forum), temperature and how to keep your tank cold, what to feed them, what you can and cannot put in their tank, etc. There's a lot to know. They're a really fun pet, but a lot of new owners (let's face it, pretty much ALL new owners) screw at least one thing up. haha. So make sure it's only a minor thing that you didn't know rather than a major thing.