Illness/Sickness: Not Sure-Advice Welcome

bojangles

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I recently rescued two axalotls from somebody who had too many (11 in one tank!) and wanted rid of them. There is a golden albino and a blue wild type, however i have no experience with either if these, mine is a typical albino.
Before putting them into the main tank with my original 'lotl , I was wondering if anyone could help confirm that they appear disease free. From pictures ive seen if both types they apear normal, however due to their cramped conditions I was concerned about potential fungal infections. I'm probably just being paranoid, but its always better to be safe than sorry. Theres nothing in their behavior to suggest they are ill, and the white spot on the blue one appears (to me) to be part of the the skin, rather than a growth on the surface, but as I said, Im not used to the colouration so a second opinion would be very appreciated.

Thanks
Jangles

Attachments

• tmp_20275-20160406_2254251126872228.jpg
    tmp_20275-20160406_2254251126872228.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 174
  • tmp_20275-20160406_194639984966858.jpg
    tmp_20275-20160406_194639984966858.jpg
    54.2 KB · Views: 167
  • tmp_20275-20160406_1945201532066611.jpg
    tmp_20275-20160406_1945201532066611.jpg
    63.2 KB · Views: 154
Hi Bojangles and welcome to the forum. :happy:

To start with, the two new axolotls have the same care needs as your current one, the same water parameters, temperature, space, hides and food.
From the pictures there doesn't seem to be anything obviously wrong with them, but I've only been keeping axolotls for less than 2 months, so please get opinions from the more experienced keepers on this forum before making any decisions.