Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Not sure what to make of this, or if I'm just paranoid..

Mewtwo

Reaction score
Hello =) I'm new to owning axoltols. I got my two juveniles from a breeder about...maybe a month ago, probably a little less. Everything was fine, until Someone said I needed 50 gallons minimum to hold two juveniles? I have a 20g, :( is this true? I read I'm many places it was 10g per adult...

Anyway, my tank info is as follows:

Temp: 62-65 (never seen it above 66)
Nitrite: 0
Ammonia:0
Nitrate:20
Filtered: yes
Aerated: yes, bar bubbler, set on low
Tank size: 20g, can't find my ruler or I'd give exact measurements
Stock: 2 juvenile axoltols, (sorry if I misspelled that)
Established since: June 8th, 2015
Substrate: barebottom

I feed them frozen bloodworms (after being thawed obviously) from a baster, or with my hand which I love to do :D it's adorable.

But on to the issue

I'm not sure if they where like this before,but the 'finger' tips are turning a darker color.

I haven't SEEN any aggression, but one recently acquired what looked almost like a bite out of his(or her) 'tail'. Before this, I noticed he had...almost a bubble, formed on the top of the fin that runs along his tail, which swelled before going down and turning a light red, and finally is gone. I don't know what to make of this, and I'm honestly getting worried. what am I doing wrong? What could that have been?

The largest one of them is about 4 inches, as a rough estimate, and the other is 3-3.5 inches. The little one has, recently, taken to eating just about everything before the large one can eat, so I've started having to feed them on seperate sides of the tank entirely.