My axolotls laid eggs I'm a beginner help.

Dylanj94

Reaction score
Country
United States
My axolotls decided to lay a bunch of eggs a few days ago and after researching it have determined that there was no way I would have the time or cash to buy the stuff they needed. Especially for the 80ish eggs she laid. I contacted a pet store and the guy said he would take all of the eggs in a week but recommended I go to this forum and ask for advice/help

I know that I could go to ponds and try to scoop out little critters to feed the hatchlings but will that be enough? Would I need to keep a small tank for the things I scoop up? I have also gotten mixed up on how to keep the babys Some say seperate them, some say communal group, filter no filter. Etc. Etc. I would like to keep a few of them, but am unsure how long I have to feed them live food.

I'm just tired of doing research and finding conflicting info.

Another issue I have is that I can't move the eggs, in a fit of brilliance the axolotls decided to stick eggs all over their filter, so I had to turn it off fearing for the eggs lives.
Their also stuck on with glue it feels like and I'm too afraid to pull too hard.

I separated the male and female for now since I'm afraid they'll make more eggs. Is that alright? Will they breed again?

Help me..
Please help me.

Last edited:
Scooping stuff from ponds is risky as you don't know what your transferring into your tanks/containers. You should purchase daphnia or hatch your own baby brine shrimp to use as a food source. Daphnia can be purchased online or from most aquatic stores, you can build your own baby brine shrimp hatchery but it is slightly more hassle, although once you can hatch with ease it is an easy food source. http://www.caudata.org/forum/f46-beginner-newt-salamander-axolotl-help-topics/f48-axolotls-ambystoma-mexicanum/f61-axolotl-eggs-larvae-breeding/88172-raising-baby-axolotls-baby-brine-shrimp-bbs.html
Daphnia