What do I need for an axolotl?

onewithnopowers

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am new to all this and I'm starting at the very beginning. I have a tank that is 100cm in length, 40cm in height and 30cm in depth. That's it.
I want to know, as I live in Edinburgh Scotland, what kind of water is good? Do I need a water conditioner if so what brand should I get? Can I use bottled Spring water such as Highland Spring? Or should I just leave buckets of tap water to sit for 48 hours?
Also what type and brand of filter should I use? (Please send me links to these filter products if possible).
And again what type of substrate should I use? (Please send some links of these).
I also have a friend of a friend who owns fish (not sure if this applies to axolotls) who mentioned about having bacteria to cycle the ammonia and nitrites. Also I would like to links to some good water testing kits as well. I know axolotls like to eat blood worms and earth worms. I also have a turkey baster and some tongs as these looked useful for feeding and cleaning the tank.
Also I have not started cycling my tank and how is this done? And what other decorations can I use that is also safe.

Hi there and welcome to the forum. :happy:

For information on axolotl care the following sites are great, and will answer all of your questions.
Caudata Culture Axolotl Articles
Axolotls: The Fascinating Mexican Axolotl and the Tiger Salamander

I have only been keeping axolotls for just over 2 months, but I can tall you what I have:-
I use tap water and I use Tetra AquaSafe water conditioner. You can leave water sit for chlorine to evaporate, but that wont deal with anything else, which the water conditioner does. There is an article in the first link regarding the use of bottled water, but I use tap water because it's free and it works.
I use the Aqua Internal 200 filter with the spray bar aimed towards the glass to reduce the water movement.