Hungry Lil Babies!

eraserheaded

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Aartdina
Hi everyone! My name is Aartdina, I'm new to the Caudata community and just got my first two axolotls (as juveniles) in March. Their names are Tulip (leucistic) and Jesse (wildtype), they're about 5.5" already!

IMG_1215.jpg

Anyway, I need a little bit of experienced advice on how much & how often to feed them. I've been giving them 1/2 to 1 whole cube (each) of thawed frozen bloodworms per day. Typically they don't eat the full amount because they're quite messy and scatter the worms everywhere. I saw that many people feed their axies far less frequently! I just worry about them, they follow me across the room, swim right up to the inside of the glass, and act as if they're starved every time I feed them. Much like how a dog gives you those sad eyes even though you just gave them a whole bowl of kibble not 20 minutes before!

Thanks all for your time and wisdom. xoxo